Northern Cyprus

Formed in 1975 with the ratification of a constitution, the Turkish Republic of North Cyprus is recognized officially only by Turkey. Carved out of the northern portion of the Mediterranean island of Cyprus, following years of unrest and disputes between factions supported by Greece and Turkey.

In an effort to end hostilities between the factions, the island was partitioned by the United Nations in 1974. Today the population of Northern Cyprus is less than 200,000.

The weather in Northern Cyprus is pleasant with a Mediterranean climate. Visitors will find numerous accommodations and the dining options are varied. The local dishes are influenced by the ethnic mix of the island.

Despite the political ambiguity surrounding Northern Cyprus, the country is becoming a popular tourist destination, particularly among Europeans. Relatively low costs and lightly crowded beaches offer vacationers an attractive Mediterranean holiday.

Increasing as well is sale of Northern Cyprus vacation property. Visitors interested in purchasing property find a wide selection in various price ranges.

Flights to Northern Cyprus are serviced through Ercan Airport. Popular carriers include Turkish Airlines, Cyprus Turkish Airlines and Altas Jet.

The citizens of European Union (EU) nations, Turkey, USA, Canada, Mexico, Israel, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, Iceland, Norway, Australia, New Zealand do not require visa.

All other nationals should check their position with regard to passports and visas with the nearest Embassy or Office of Representative of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus.

Reported incidence of crime is low though as with most vacation areas, travelers should be alert for pick-pockets and other petty crime.


Albania Andorra Austria
Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria
Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic
Denmark England Estonia
Finland France Germany
Gibraltar Greece Greenland
Hungary Iceland Ireland
Italy Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg Macedonia
Malta Monaco Montenegro
Netherlands Northern Cyprus Northern Ireland
Norway Poland Portugal
Romania San Marino Scotland
Serbia Slovak Republic Slovenia
Spain Sweden Switzerland
Turkey United Kingdom Vatican City