Western Sahara

Western Sahara is a territory of northwestern Africa, bordered by Morocco to the north, Algeria in the northeast, Mauritania to the east and south, and the Atlantic Ocean on the west. It is one of the most sparsely populated territories in the world, mainly consisting of desert flatlands. The largest city is El Aaiún (Laâyoune), which is home to over half of the population of the territory.

Morocco virtually annexed the northern two-thirds of Western Sahara (formerly Spanish Sahara) in 1976, and the rest of the territory in 1979, following Mauritania's withdrawal. The country has been the scene of fighting and instability ever since. Negotiations are ongoing but the situation remains unstable. Travelers, particularly from western countries, are advised to use caution.

Select the Google Maps or Earth icon above for a free map. For prior traveler alerts and detailed information on Western Sahara, be sure to click on the Destination Brief above. For complete, up-to-the-minute travel and country information, click on the Intelligence/Trip Briefs or Destination Tracker travel monitoring service sections.



Afghanistan Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Darussalam Cambodia China
East Timor Hong Kong SAR India
Indonesia Japan Laos
Malaysia Maldives Mongolia
Myanmar Nepal North Korea
Pakistan Philippines Singapore
South Korea Sri Lanka Taiwan
Thailand Vietnam